View Menu

Winners of 2020 WAMAwards revealed in star-studded ceremony!

23 Mar

With WA Music Week in full swing, WA’s finest music exports and up-and-comers headed to Perth’s historic His Majesty’s Theatre on Tuesday night to celebrate the very best of 2020 at the WAMAwards. The prestigious evening was a testament to the shining talent streaming out of Western Australia’s vibrant and resilient music scene.

Leading the way with a massive four award wins was Fremantle success story Spacey Jane who took out awards for Best Pop Act, Most Popular Act, Best Single for Booster Seat, and a tied win with WA music royalty Tame Impala for Best Album, with their release Sunlight. Not far behind was the evergreen Grace Barbé, taking home three awards including Best Global Music Act, Best Vocalist and Best Bassist. Mojo’s Bar continued its reign as WA’s most-loved live music spot, taking out the award for Most Popular Venue for the seventh year in a row.

The coveted 2020 Golden WAMi was awarded to the highly deserving Will Backler of RTRFM. Working tirelessly both on and off the mic, Will’s contributions as RTRFM’s Music & Program Director, Interviews Coordinator and Head of Training provide countless opportunities for WA artists and industry, whilst championing the broad diversity of talent WA has to offer.

The night also paid tribute in honouring this year’s two Hall of Fame inductees, Paul McCarthy (RIP) and Fitzroy XPress. Members of McCarthy’s last band Circus performed in tribute to the legendary singer/songwriter and Fitzroy Xpress also took to the stage in celebration of their achievement.

Keeping up the energy up through-out the night were stellar live performances from winners Adrian Dzvuke, Bexx, MissGenius, Noah Dillon, Tanya Ransom and nominees Nika Mo and Alter Boy. Topping the evening off with a bang was a special full-band performance – their first in 12 months – from multi-WAMAward winning Tame Impala, leaving the audience ecstatic at the rare opportunity to witness our own international music phenomenon in a theatre setting.



Best Album presented by Indian Ocean Hotel – Tame Impala Slow Rush, Spacey Jane Sunlight
Best Blues/Roots Act presented by Blues at Bridgetown – Matty T Wall
Best Country Act presented by Country Music Club Boyup Brook – Siobhan Cotchin
Best EP presented by Milk Bar – Noah Dillon Everything Melts
Best Experimental Act presented by RTRFM – Rachael Dease
Best Folk Act presented by Clancy’s Fremantle – Jack Davies & The Bush Chooks
Best Hip-Hop Act presented by Sorrento Strategic Music – Adrian Dzvuke
Best Indigenous Act presented by Nannup Music Festival – MissGenius
Best Jazz Act presented by Alex Hotel – Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group
Best Live Electronic Act presented by The Sewing Room – Your Girl Pho, BEXX
Best Metal/Heavy Act presented by Kosmic – Bolt Gun
Best Music Video presented by A0 Let’s Go – Psychedelic Porn Crumpets Mr Prism
Best Pop Act presented by Lolly Box Music – Spacey Jane
Best Punk/Hardcore Act presented by Hammer Ink – Dennis Cometti
Best Regional Act presented by Hertz – Tanya Ransom
Best Rock Act presented by Badlands Bar – The Southern River Band
Best Single presented by The Bird – Spacey Jane Booster Seat
Best R&B/Funk/Soul Act presented by Freo.Social – Grievous Bodily Calm
Best Global Music Act presented by APRA AMCOS – Grace Barbé
Label of the Year presented by Shiny Rabbit – Blue Grey Pink
Golden WAMi presented by City of Perth – Will Backler (RTRFM)


Best Bassist presented by Media Arts Lawyers – Grace Barbé
Best Brass/String/Woodwind Instrumentalist presented by Lotterywest – Gemma Farrell (Gemma Farrell Quintet, Artemis Orchestra, Namora Nonet)
Best Drummer/Percussionist presented by Mega Music – Talya Valenti (Bolt Gun, Stella Donnelly)
Best Electronic Producer presented by Pilerats  – SLUMBERJACK
Best Guitarist presented by Yamaha – Guy Ghouse (Gina Williams & Guy Ghouse)
Best Keys/Synth Artist presented by Perth Audio Visual – Josiah Padmanabham (Grievous Bodily Calm)
Best Live Sound Engineer presented by Mustang Bar – Jeremy Beste
Best Studio Sound Engineer/Producer Presented by SAE Qantm Creative Media Institute – Andy Lawson (Debaser Studios)
Best Vocalist presented by Lyric’s Underground – Grace Barbé


Most Popular Act presented by Rosemount Hotel – Spacey Jane
Most Popular Live Act presented by RAC Arena – Electric State
Most Popular Live or Streaming Music Event presented by Moshtix – Nannup Music Festival
Most Popular New Act presented by The Aardvark – Electric State
Most Popular Venue presented by The Poster Girls – Mojo’s Bar

Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The ArtsGovernment of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Lottery West, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.