View Menu

Song Of The Year Award Winners 2013

Song Of The Year Award Winners 2013

5 Feb



Thought-provoking rhymer and self-made beat producer Mathas was awarded the Grand Prize for his song Nourishment (also featuring Abbe May) at the annual WAM Song Of The Year Awards Night 2013 held at the Fly By Night Musicians Club.

To top off this incredible achievement, Mathas also took out the category awards for both Electronic and Urban/Hip Hop earlier in the evening with the same song. There was certainly no shortage of Nourishment for Mathas as the 2013 Grand Prize winner walked away with $3,000 cash, three days recording at Albert Studios in Sydney (engineered by Wayne Connolly), a mentoring session from Albert’s Creative Services Team, a mastering session with James Hewgill Music, 500 CDs pressed by DiskBank, an opportunity for a publishing deal with Perfect Pitch Publishing, a Berklee Music online music course and a RODE microphones package. In addition, Mathas will also take to the stage at the AGWA Nights finale (opening for Bob Evans) and be performing at the 2013 (WA Music Awards and WA Export Showcase) and 2014 WAM Festivals.

The night was hosted by the ever-entertaining Tomas Ford, and guests were treated to superb performances by last year’s Grand Prize winners Rainy Day Women, country and blues and roots nominees The Ghost Hotel, vocal and electronic maestros Ylem & Dease and Odette Mercy & Her Soul Atomics, who brought the 2013 Awards Night to a spectacular close.

Tomas Ford hosting by Dan Grant
Tomas Ford hosting by Dan Grant




Blues / Roots
Sponsored by Clancy’s Fish Pub

Hell To Pay by The Ghost Hotel
High Tide by Jordan McRobbie – Winner
Lovin In The Fall by Ruby Boots
Thirty Five Seconds by Morgan Bain
We Are Fools by Riley Pierce


Sponsored by Boyup Brook Country Music Club

First And Last by Graphic Fiction Heroes – Winner
Hell To Pay by The Ghost Hotel
Stars On His Shoulders by Jonny Taylor (Bunbury)
Suffering In Silence by Jonny Taylor (Bunbury)
We Are In Love by Courtney Conway


Sponsored by SAE Institute

Innersense by Diger Rokwell
Mr. Alpha by Sid Pattni
Nourishment by Mathas feat. Abbe May – Winner
Phantasy by Kučka
Wandering Strangers by Black & Blunt


Sponsored by APRA|AMCOS

Fist Fingers by TheIntensoBand
Flux by Kučka
Road Movie by Gilded
So We Beat On, Boats Against The Current by Cycle~ 440 – Winner
Velar by Gilded


Sponsored by Folkworld Inc.

Fourteen by Elli Schoen
L’il Star by Joni In The Moon
Mind The Gap by Rhys Wood
No Such Thing as Waste by Formidable Vegetable Sound System – Winner
Right Brain Holiday by Davey Craddock And The Spectacles


Sponsored by The Rosemount Hotel

Barbiturate Blues by Bayou
Frankenstein by Sleepfreak – Winner
No Entry by Diamond Eye
Paper Doll by Diamond Eye
Time Bomb by Diamond Eye

Heavy SOTY winners Sleepfreak by Dan Grant


Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival

Friends by Jarred Wall of Jake and the Cowboys – Winner
Gwungoon by Patrick John Starr (Gascoyne)
Little Devils by Clint Bracknell
Our Ways Our Stories by Tyson Mowarin (Roebourne)
Quicksand by Janine Oxenham (Carnarvon)


Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club & The Perth Jazz Society

Avina by Nick Abbey of Abbey|Foster|Falle – Winner
Betty by Chris Foster of Abbey|Foster|Falle
Golden Tree by Rick Webster
This Time Last Year by Chris Foster of Abbey|Foster|Falle
Try Something by Jeremy Trezona


Mentally Healthy
Sponsored by the Mental Health Commission of WA

Asleep by Clay Micallef (Denmark)
Hurting Bird by Rachel Gorman – Winner
Sunny Days by Walkabout Boys (Broome)
The Darkness by Codie Sundstrom (Dalwallinu)
Wintersun by Rachel Gorman


Sponsored by the City of South Perth

Cubs by Runner
Fly Under the Radar by Stillwater Giants
Suit by Boom! Bap! Pow! – Winner
She Don’t Need To Know by China Doll
Temaze by Our Man In Berlin


Sponsored by Hertz

Greed by Juerlaine (Margaret River)
The Darkness by Codie Sundstrom (Dalwallinu)
Blooming by Tracey Barnett (Bridgetown)
Three States by Minute 36 (Albany) – Winner
Victoria by Connor Ryan (Albany)


Sponsored by 96FM

Body Unbind by Eleventh He Reaches London – Winner
Born In the 90s by Timothy Nelson & The Infidels
Motorolla Borealis by Usurper of Modern Medicine
Salem by Apache
Single Malt by Minute 36 (Albany)


Schools – 14 Years and Under
Sponsored by Concept Music

Born To Live by Kristen Brand of Crystal
Corner Shop by Ella Edwards-Smith
Hey Hey Hey by Claudia Tripp
Listen by Emmanuel Navarro aka ENAV – Winner
Sold Dreams by Emmanuel Navarro aka ENAV


Schools – 15-17 Years
Sponsored by Concept Music

Could Love by Julia Nicholls – Winner
Letters by Fellow or Foe
Ocean Throne by Jacob Wylde
Sugar Fingers by Evanda
Thing Of Ours by Julia Nicholls


Urban / Hiphop
Sponsored by Down Under Ground Events

Mile High Club by Coin Banks
My Heart by Coin Banks
Nourishment by Mathas feat Abbe May – Winner
One Way Ticket by Lo & Behold
Written by FG


Sponsored by City of Wanneroo Global Beats & Eats

ANANTH: The Endless Dance by 7 Beats – Winner
Dashti by Reza Mirzaei of Daramad
Dove Song by Joni In The Moon
Krakow by Robert Zielinski
Magpie by Phillip Waldron of Daramad

Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The ArtsGovernment of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Lottery West, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.