View Menu

telstra road to discovery

Riley Pearce and Teischa finalists in Telstra Road To Discovery

20 Nov

After canvassing the country these past four months for Australia’s next generation of songwriters, 10 aspiring musicians have made it through to the Grand Final of the Telstra Road to Discovery talent development program, and two of them are West Australians – congrats Riley Pearce and Teischa!

From Narooma to Fremantle, Adelaide to Darwin, the Telstra Road to Discovery program has uncovered a diverse range of musicians across a variety of genres including indie folk, gospel soul, roots, Americana, pop and blues. Following a Semi Final heat held at Kindred Studios in Melbourne and a Perth heat at the Fly By Night, the final 10 were selected from a field of 18 hopefuls and will now compete at the Grand Final to be held at the Forum Theatre in Melbourne on Wednesday 3 December.

The Grand Final will see two winners rewarded with a $15,000 music development fund and a trip to the United States to perform at the Americana Music Festival. The prize also includes ongoing opportunities for further development including local gigs and education to help kick-start their music career.

Telstra General Manager Brand Marketing, Toby Dewar, congratulated all 10 musicians on making it to the Grand Final. “Each artist has an original and unique songwriting ability and we were absolutely blown away by the incredible talent shown at the Telstra Road Semi Final. “In the week leading up to the event the performers were mentored by well-respected artists, producers and managers in the music industry at a Boot Camp session and it’s exciting to see how this has helped enhance their performance and songwriting abilities,” Mr Dewar said.

The WA Finalists:
Teischa (Teischa Jones), 17, Jolimont WA (contemporary folk, guitar)
Riley Pearce, 21, Dalkeith WA (indie folk, acoustic guitar)

Hosted by Melbourne singer-songwriter Ella Hooper, and alongside performances by the Semi Finalists, audiences at the final were treated to acts from last year’s winners Helen Shanahan from Perth and Christopher Coleman from Hobart. This year’s journey started in July, touring across Australia and selecting a total of 18 unsigned musicians from eight live music performance heats and a digital component, with 10 artists making it through to perform at the Grand Final.

More info here.

*PHOTO: L to R: Reuben Koops, Joe Mungovan, Hannah Rosa (Hannah Morrison), Riley Pearce, Dylan Wright, Larissa Tandy, Teischa (Teischa Jones), Gordi (Sophie Payten), Loren Kate (Loren Kate Steenkamp), Asch- Rose Steadman, Ella Hooper.

Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts Australian Government

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Culture and the Arts, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.