View Menu


WA Music Awards winners 2014

7 Nov


The cream of Western Australia’s music crop was given its annual prestigious dose of local love on Friday evening at the 2014 WA Music Awards. Hosted by the unpredictably zany Tomàs Ford and special industry guests from around the country, WA music came of age as it celebrated the 21st annual awards at Capitol, with Sable and Timothy Nelson & the Infidels helping lay down the party.

Timothy Nelson & the Infidels cleaned up on the night, scooping 5 wins out of their 7 nominations, including Best Album, Best Pop Act, Best Keys /Synth Artist (Timothy Nelson), Best Male Vocalist (Timothy Nelson) and Best Guitarist (Luke Dux). Taking out both the coveted Golden WAMi and Management Award was Jodie Regan, the founder of Spinning Top and its incredible stable of acts including Tame Impala, Pond and Felicity Groom.

Other big winners on the night included KUČKA who took out 3 of their 5 awards – Best Single, Best Electronic Act and Best Experimental Act; psychedelic rockers and stand-out crowd pleasers Pond with 2 awards – Most Popular Act and Most Popular Live Act; The Love Junkies with 2 out of their 7 nominations – Best Rock Act and Best Drummer (Lewis Walsh); and blues rockers The Floors with 2 -Best Blues and Roots Act and Best Bassist (Ryan Dux). The public also voted St Jerome’s Laneway Festival their favourite Music Event of the Year for the second year in a row, and Mojo’s as the Most Popular Venue for 2014.

Full list below, including the WA Music Craft Awards winners that were announced at the State Theatre Courtyard ceremony earlier in the eve.

2014’s Hall of Fame inductees were also celebrated at the WA Music Awards ceremony, with Philip Stevens and Martyn P. Casey joining the list of legends. Stevens, the current manager of John Butler Trio, The Waifs and San Cisco, started Jarrah Records in 2002 and set up the now iconic Mojo’s Bar in Fremantle. Casey, a member of many seminal Australian acts including Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and The Triffids, still tours with The Bad Seeds and Grinderman, plus performs with local act The Painkillers.

The celebrations kick on this Saturday 8 November, with the ever-amazing Saturday Spectacular taking over Northbridge. With 54 acts across 7 venues, this year including an all-ages stage in the Perth Cultural Centre and the debut of the open-air Block Party at the Wilson Car Park on Roe St. All venues are FREE, midday to midnight. The line-up also includes the following WA Music Awards winners:

KUČKA – Best Single, Best Electronic Act & Best Experimental Act and playing at the Block Party.

THE LOVE JUNKIES – Best Rock Act & Best Drummer (Lewis Walsh) and playing at the Block Party.

PUCK – Best Metal/Heavy Act and playing the Saturday Spectacular.

DAVID CRAFT – Best Folk Act and playing the Saturday Spectacular.

THE FLOORS – Best Blues and Roots Act & Best Bassist (Ryan Dux) and playing the Saturday Spectacular.

Full Saturday Spectacular line up here.

Presented by The Music

MOST POPULAR ACT | Presented by City Of Perth
John Butler Trio; Pond (winner); San Cisco; Ta-ku; The Love Junkies; Timothy Nelson & The Infidels

MOST POPULAR LIVE ACT | Presented by The Rosemount Hotel
Mt. Mountain; Pond (winner); The Kill Devil Hills ; The Love Junkies; Timothy Nelson & The Infidels; Tired Lion

MOST POPULAR NEW ACT | Presented by Sunset Events
Coin Banks; Dream Rimmy; Fait; Hideous Sun Demon (winner); Methyl Ethel; Slumberjack

MOST POPULAR EVENT | Presented by Music Feedback
Camp Doogs; Circo; Hidden Treasures ; In The Pines; St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival (winner); State Of The Art

MOST POPULAR VENUE | Presented by Diskbank
Amplifier / Capitol; Mojo’s (winner); The Bakery; The Bird; The Odd Fellow; The Rosemount

MOST POPULAR MUSIC VIDEO | Presented by Shiny Rabbit
Boys Boys Boys! – We Like To Move; John Butler Trio – Only One (winner); Moana – The Killer, My Girl; Sable – Foolin'; Scalphunter – There Will Be Change; Usurper Of Modern Medicine – Motorolla Borealis


GOLDEN WAMi | Presented by City Of Perth
Andrew Ryan; Bob Gordon; Jodie Regan (winner); Luke Rinaldi; Peter Barr

BEST ALBUM | Presented by Alberts
John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood; Pond – Hobo Rocket; Timothy Nelson & The Infidels – Terror Terror, Hide It Hide it (winner); Usurper Of Modern Medicine – Omniliberation

BEST SINGLE | Presented by MRA
John Butler Trio – Only One; KUČKA – Unconditional (winner); Sable – Feels So Good; The Love Junkies – Chemical Motivation

2014 BREAKTHROUGH ARTIST | Presented by Central Institute Of Technology
Coin Banks; Lower Spectrum; Mt. Mountain (winner); Pat Chow; Sable

MANAGEMENT AWARD | Presented by Central Institute Of Technology
Jacob Snell; Jodie Regan (winner); Luke Rinaldi; Matt Johnson

MEDIA AWARD | Presented by Worldwide Printing Solutions
Bob Gordon (X-Press Magazine); Daniel Cribb (The Music); Peter Barr (RTRFM) (winner); Simon Collins (The West Australian)


BEST ROCK ACT | Presented by triple j
Pat Chow; Pond; Scalphunter; The Kill Devil Hills; The Love Junkies (winner)

BEST PUNK / HARDCORE ACT | Presented by Moshtix
Chainsaw Hookers; Grim Fandango; Leeches; Scalphunter; Vanity (winner)

BEST METAL / HEAVY ACT | Presented by Earache Records
Chaos Divine; Claim The Throne; Forstora; Puck (winner); Voyager

BEST URBAN ACT | Presented by The Poster Girls
Amani Consort; Bryte MC; Coin Banks; Mathas (winner); Odette Mercy & Her Soul Atomics

BEST ELECTRONIC ACT | Presented by X-Press Magazine
Basic Mind; KUČKA (winner); Lower Spectrum; Mei Saraswati; Slumberjack

BEST EXPERIMENTAL ACT | Presented by X-Press Magazine
Decibel; Eleventeen Eston; KUČKA (winner); Mei Saraswati; Mudlark

BEST WORLD MUSIC ACT | Presented by Fairbridge Festival
Formidable Vegetable Sound System; Gina Williams & Guy Ghouse; Grace Barbé; The Weapon Is Sound (winner)

BEST JAZZ ARTIST | Presented by Perth Jazz Society & The Ellington
Ben Vanderwal; Daniel Susnjar; Jamie Oehlers; Tom O’Halloran (winner)

BEST FOLK ACT| Presented by Media Arts Lawyers
David Craft (winner); Helen Shanahan; Jacob Diamond; Morgan Bain

BEST INDIGENOUS ACT | Presented by Noongar Radio
Bradley Hall; Bryte MC; Gina Williams & Guy Ghouse (winner); Stephen Pigram; Fitzroy Express

BEST COUNTRY ACT | Presented by Mustang Bar
Davey Craddock & The Spectacles; Jonny Taylor; Ruby Boots (winner); Stoney Joe

BEST BLUES & ROOTS ACT | Presented by Clancy’s Fish Pub
John Butler Trio; Morgan Bain; Old Blood; Riley Pearce; The Floors (winner)

BEST POP ACT | Presented by The Wire
Boys Boys Boys!; Flower Drums; Gunns; Samantha Jade; Timothy Nelson & The Infidels (winner)

Presented by RTRFM

Adam Round; Chris Wright (winner); Jay Brandner; Jeremy Beste

Adam Round (winner); Andy Lawson; Dave Parkin; Matt Giovannangelo

Diger Rokwell (winner); Naik; Sable; Slumberjack

Jack Doepel (MmHmmm, Jack Doepel Quartet); Jake Steele (KUČKA, Injured Ninja); James Ireland (Hamjam, The Growl); Timothy Nelson (The Kill Devil Hills, Timothy Nelson & The Infidels) (winner)

Andrew Ewing (The Devil Rides Out); Lee Jones (Polly Medlen, Ruby Boots); Luke Dux (The Floors, Timothy Nelson & The Infidels) (winner); Mitch McDonald (The Love Junkies)
Jennifer Aslett (Gunns); Marc Earley (The Growl); Ryan Dux (The Kill Devil Hills, The Floors) (winner); Steven Aaron Hughes (Usurper Of Modern Medicine)

Abbe May (winner); Felicity Groom; Laura Jane Lowther aka KUČKA; Mei Saraswati

David Craft; Mathas; Mitch McDonald (The Love Junkies); Timothy Nelson (winner)

Jamie Gallacher (Pat Chow, Rag n’ Bone); Lewis Walsh (The Love Junkies) (winner); Liam Young (The Novocaines, Puck); Nathan Sproule (Chainsaw Hookers, The Devil Rides Out)

Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts Australian Government

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Culture and the Arts, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.