Continuing our successful Sounds Of series, Sounds Of The Wheatbelt involved WAM taking ten Wheatbelt acts to a temporary professional studio, set up in a farmhouse between Dowerin and Wongan Hills. It was here that we recorded 10 amazing tracks that capture the life and land of the Wheatbelt.

WAM’s Sounds of program provides musicians in remote and regional areas with the opportunity to professionally record their music, and in the process of recording, mentors both the musicians and locally-based engineers through song production and arrangement. It is this lasting legacy of the projects that we hope will continue to see the musicians in the regions continue to record and release their music.

Sounds Of The Wheatbelt Track List 

  1. Hayden Sprigg The Eastern Line (Grandad’s Song) (Mukinbudin)
  2. The Pipeline Band Our Town (Northam)
  3. Georgie Sadler Stay Right Here (Wongan Hills)
  4. Tom O’Brien and Russell Gooley Lost (Narrogin)
  5. John Read Sacred Sound (Kondinin)
  6. Pete Byfield Wialki (Northam)
  7. Billy Narrier Long Time Gone (Mogumber)
  8. Ryan Flannigan I Waited (Merredin)
  9. Gloria Franke Once There Was (Jurien Bay)
  10. Brian ‘Buzzer’ Bitter, an 80-something bush balladeer Forget The Bitumine (Jurien Bay)




We are trialing a new model for our Sounds Of project and are selling the Sounds Of The Wheatbelt CD in the hope of developing a partly sustainable arts project and getting the team back to record some great new acts from the Wheatbelt region. If you’d like to buy a copy, please go Heartlands WA’s website, or have a listen HERE!

WAM could not have done this without the support of our project partners:

celebrate WARACBrookfield Rail

Wheatbelt Development Commission LogoHeartlandsAvon-Community-Development-Foundation logo screenshot

soundtown   Dowerin Field Days