Thanks to our partners Celebrate WA and their major supporter BHP Billiton, plus Brookfield Rail, Regional Development Australia Goldfields Esperance and The City of Kalgoorlie Boulder, WAM’s Sounds Of The Goldfields project highlights the rich vein of music talent running through the Goldfields.

Ten diverse artists were recorded, the CD then officially launched to a sold out audience at the Goldfields Arts Centre on Saturday 28 May, with live performances from all featured artists plus special guests Eskimo Joe. A huge success, 800 CDs left in the hands of a buzzing 700 strong crowd, with GWN7 calling the launch “the Goldfields’ night of nights.”

Already achieving widespread early coverage, Sounds Of The Goldfields has been the Feature Album on numerous community radio stations, as well as all tracks receiving key airplay on ABC radio stations, and it’s now time to share these incredible artists with the rest of Australia. Recently Tjuma Pulka 96.3FM aired an amazing feature in the Goldfields, but now anyone can listen to it. On the podcast, all 10 artists are played and interviewed, touching on everything from the recording process to youth suicide, bullying and serious issues in the region. It’s an inspiring listen, click to listen for free!

The CD contains a diverse range of talent; including a track by Senate candidate Kado Muir; five songs performed by Indigenous groups; the underage raps of the LYC Crew; a gospel family in The Brownley Gospel Singers; Eleven13 Record label owner Ruben Wills; young awarded starlets in Kalgoorlie Boulder Open Mic Comp winner Jennifer Renee and the age-defying vocals of 15-year-old Tiahn Dillon; and bona fide indie rock hit makers in The China Blue Experiment, The Picture Gardens and more. As such, Sounds Of The Goldfields is a fascinating snapshot of the region, packed with new discoveries to suit any taste.

Along with guest sessions from Eskimo Joe’s Joel Quartermain, Sounds Of The Goldfields saw award-winning engineers Matt Gio and Sean Lillico work with ten Goldfields artists, each left the Soundtown pop-up studio in Kalgoorlie with stellar songs. Sounds Of The Goldfields have you covered with everything from country to indie rock, hip hop, rock’n’roll, blues and roots, electro-pop and beyond.

Sounds Of The Goldfields Track List 

  1. The China Blue Experiment 
Going Away [Kalgoorlie, Rock/Soul]
  2. Jennifer Renee Settle My Soul [Kalgoorlie, Youth/Pop]
  3. Kado Muir & LYC Crew feat. K J 
I Choose To Be Free (The Mamu Tjiitjii Song) [Leonora, Indigenous/Hip-hop]
  4. The Brownley Gospel Singers The Man Of Calvary [Kalgoorlie, Indigenous/Gospel]
  5. Tiahn Dillon Mean Girl [Kalgoorlie, Youth/Pop]
  6. The Picture Gardens Hurt, Heal, Live
 [Kalgoorlie/Laverton, Indigenous/Alt-Rock]
  7. Marcus McGuire Once Again [Kalgoorlie, Indigenous/Country/Rock]
  8. Desert Stars Nyangatja Ngurra [Tjuntjuntjara Community, Indigenous/Rock]
  9. Ruben Wills Trainwreck [Kambalda, Adult Contemporary]
  10. Ange Leech feat. Michelle Meehan Blood Moon Rise
 [Kalgoorlie/Laverton, Roots]




To get a FREE copy of the Sounds Of The Goldfields you can:

  • Pick up a physical copy from the Goldfields Arts Centre
  • From the WAM office (limited number of copies for non WAM members)
  • Listen to it on Soundcloud, and even download some of the tracks for free!                      

WAM extends our warm thanks to each of the project partners who have committed funding to support this important project:




CKB Logo Colour