View Menu

WAM Song Of The Year 2016-17 Nominees + Awards Party line-up revealed!

12 Apr

Having already exposed the songwriting talents and boosted the careers of Methyl Ethel, Tired Lion, KUČKA, Mathas, Timothy Nelson, Beni Bjah and many more in recent years, it’s time to again cast eyes (and ears!) on WA’s next crop of stars in the making as we reveal the 2016-17 nominees for WAM Song Of The Year, WA’s premier song competition, and one of Australia’s biggest.

Vying for a share in over $40,000 worth in prizes over 16 categories covering all genres, leading the pack is Riley Pearce with three nominations. Scoring two noms are Bill Lawrie, The Brow, The Decline, Harry Mitchell, The Intenso Band, Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble, Lilt, Morgan Bain, Rag n’ Bone, Scalphunter and The Struggling Kings.

The rest of the nominations pool features an inspiring mix of songs from both established acts and new discoveries, with the winners to be revealed at an epic public WAM Song Of The Year Awards Party on Wednesday 17 May. This year’s party will be another harbourside sunset soiree, debuting at the WA Maritime Museum with MC Magnus Danger Magnus, DJ Charlie Bucket, The Money War, Ben Matthews Presents LIVEWYRE and Fremantle local Dan Howls, all guaranteed to keep the good times rolling. Presale tickets are $20+BF (WAM members) $25+BF (non members) available via Moshtix. Capacity is strictly limited and this event is likely to sell-out.


Entries have been anonymously and independently assessed by music industry experts from all over Australia – and the world! Our latest judges to come on board include Paul Harding (Pendulum – UK), Fiona Kitschin (The Drones – VIC) and Rob Younger (Radio Birdman – NSW). Full list of judges here.

Best of luck to all noms, and we can’t wait to celebrate great songwriting and good times with everyone on Wednesday 17 May!





Sponsored by Clancy’s Fish Pub Fremantle | Studio sponsor Shanghai Twang Studios

Carus Thompson Beach Fires
Dan Howls The Prince
Jordan McRobbie Candle
Mark Turner Yes I Do
Michael Ellis Time For Change


Sponsored by Country Music Club of Boyup Brook WA | Studio sponsor Fremantle Recording Studios

Belle Harvey Bridges Burn
Bill Lawrie Dalwallinu Hotel
Helen Townsend & Bill Chambers Promised Land
Ralway Bell Caught In The Crossfire
The Jackson Roses Can’t Find You


Sponsored by City of Fremantle | Studio sponsor Tone City Recording Studio

Lilt Ghosts
Out of the Blue Vice
Shyguy Had It I’m Hiding
Lilt Wait No More
Tobacco Rat Infra



Sponsored by PPCA | Studio sponsor Blackbird Studio

Gravy Murphy The World Is Your Moisture
The Intenso Band As Steadfast As The Ether Itself
Jameson Feakes A Window In Sicily
Samarobryn The Road Is My River
The Intenso Band A Small Margin of Terror



Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival | Studio sponsor Artisan Music

Bill Lawrie Always Be The Bad Girl In This Town
Nicky Sandover Orange Tree
Riley Pearce Circles
Riley Pearce Seasick
These Winter Nights Heart’s On Fire


Sponsored by Spotify | Studio sponsor Sumo Sound 

Kimura Book Of The Dead
Nucleust Of King & Tree
Shimmergloom Smithereens
St James Sirens Empires Fall
The Decline Can’t Have Both


Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club | Studio sponsor Crank Recording

Ben Matthews Esperanzish
Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group Where Would I Be Without You
Harry Mitchell Gabba The Hut
Harry Mitchell Ignacio
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble Point Of Departure


Sponsored by Noongar Radio | Studio sponsor Foxhole Studios

The Brownley Gospel Singers The Man Of Calvary
Desert Stars Ngurra Nyangatja (Our Home)
The Struggling Kings Ardyaloon (Guligool)
The Struggling Kings Oceans
Platform 2 Faultline


Sponsored by APRA AMCOS | Studio sponsor Sonic Lolly

Codee-Lee Heart Is A Compass
Valentine Can’t Shake You
Kado Muir & LYC Crew feat. KJ I Choose To Be Free (The Mamu Tjiitjii Song)
Julie Kember Gypsy Woman
Like A Thief Take Me Back


Sponsored by Cool Perth Nights/Mojos | Studio sponsor Debaser Studio
Lucy Peach Silver Tongue
Morgan Bain Summed It Up
Riley Pearce Outside The Lines
Sydnee Carter When We Were Young
The Brow Circles


Sponsored by Perfect Pitch Publishing | Studio sponsor Templeman Audio

Blindspot Thin Ice
Rag N’ Bone Pissy Flow
Scalphunter Men With Square Eyes
Scalphunter A Lie They Call The Truth
The Decline Can’t Have Both


Sponsored by Badlands Bar | Studio sponsor Poons Head Studios

High Horse Carbon Copy
Mt. Mountain Moon Desire
Our Man In Berlin A Lightbulb Mind
Rag N’ Bone Pissy Flow
The Money War Recall


Sponsored by Audiofly | Studio sponsor Vision Studios 

Farraday’s Cage Meaning Of Life
Hachi f i r e e s c a p e
Idgie All Those Lies Fall In
Lily Kate Empty Road
Toby Jonah Cinnamon

SCHOOLS 15 – 17

Sponsored by Diskbank | Studio sponsor Underground Studios

Belgrade Me
Burdiya Mob Djarliny
Charlotte Viney Young & Reckless
Megan Grace I Wanna Go Back
Siobhan Cotchin All Night All Right


Sponsored by Laneway Festival | Studio sponsor Shake Down Studio

Bluntfield The Soap Box
Chiseko & Jcal Juice
Macshane Meant To Do
Morgan Bain Summed It Up
The Brow Circles


Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival | Studio sponsor Rada Studios

56 Hope Road Justice
Barefeet Sojourns Run Run
Brassika Roll Your Eyes
Jere Sosa Taste Of Honey
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble Point Of Departure


#WAMSOTY proudly acknowledges the generous support provided by our;

Major Partners: City of Fremantle, APRA AMCOS

Supporting Partner: PPCA

Grand Prize Sponsors: Anna Laverty, Audiofly, Perfect Pitch Publishing, Firestarter Distribution, SpotifyDiskbank, The Right Profile, RØDE Microphones.

Category Sponsors: Badlands Bar, Country Music Club of Boyup Brook WA, Cool Perth Nights/Mojos, Clancy’s Fish Pub Fremantle, Fairbridge Festival, Nannup Music Festival, Noongar Radio, St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, The Ellington Jazz Club.

Studio Sponsors: Artisan Music, Blackbird Studio, Crank Recording, Debaser Studio, Foxhole Studios, Fremantle Recording Studios, Poons Head Studios, Rada Studios, Shake Down Studio, Shanghai Twang Studios, Sonic Lolly, Sumo Sound, Templeman Audio, Tone City Recording Studio, Underground Studios, Vision Studios.

Awards Sponsors: CCA Productions, Western Australian Museum, Heyder & Shears.


Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The ArtsGovernment of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Lottery West, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.