View Menu

Troye Sivan & Birds of Tokyo win APRA Music Awards

4 Apr



The 2017 APRA Music Awards has seen locals Troye Sivan (who recently also cleaned up at the GLAAD Awards) and Birds of Tokyo take home an award each.

Troye Sivan was  named the Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year. From his humble beginnings in suburban Perth, Troye quickly evolved into a YouTube superstar and now has more than 4 million subscribers to his channel. His critically acclaimed debut album, Blue Neighbourhood exploded on music charts around the world upon its release, and was one of the most streamed albums on Spotify in Australia in 2016.

The Rock Work of the Year award was won by Perth’s Birds of Tokyo (writers Ian Berney, Ian Kenny, Glenn Sarangapany, Adam Spark and Adam Weston) for I’d Go with You Anywhere from their singles compilation, Playlist. This was Birds of Tokyo’s fourth career APRA Music Award win.

Harley Streten (Flume) take home three awards – Dance Work of the Year and Most Played Australian Work for Never Be Like You feat. Kai and Songwriter of the Year. The prestigious Song of the Year award was taken out by Oliver Perry (D.D Dumbo) for his work Satan. D.D Dumbo released his long-awaited, universally acclaimed debut album, Utopia Defeated, late last year to rave reviews from local and international publications including Rolling Stone, Line of Best Fit and Mojo, before going on to win the J Award for Australian Album of the Year.

Grammy Award winning multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer, Sam Dixon has received the Overseas Recognition Award. Sam’s production and songwriting credits include Adele, Sia, Christina Aguilera, Carly Rae Jepsen, Paloma Faith and Jack Savoretti. Pop Work of the Year was awarded to Sia’s Cheap Thrills, and Aleyce Simmonds  took home her first APRA Music Award, winning Country Work of the Year for Greatest Companion. The Most Played Australian Work Overseas was Vance Joy’s Riptide. As previously announced, the International Work of the Year was Adele’s global smash hit Hello and the inaugural Licensee of the Year award was given to Adelaide live music institution, The Gov, akaThe Governor Hindmarsh Hotel.

Award winning journalist, Stan Grant, presented the 2017 Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music to legendary songwriter, storyteller and activist, Archie Roach. Paul Kelly and A.B. Original with Dan Sultan closed the ceremony with a tender tribute to their friend performing Took the Children Away.

The awards showcased special musical performances including Tkay Maidza who opened the show with Simulation. Cloves performed her take on D.D Dumbo’s Song of the Year winner, Satan, and Busby Marou put their stamp on Amy Shark’s Adore. Kate Miller-Heidke performed Tim Minchin’s Come Home (Cardinal Pell) and Holy Holy took on Julia Jacklin’s Pool Party. Song of the Year nominee Julia Jacklin wowed the crowd with her interpretation of Skeleton Tree by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds.

See below for the full list of winners.


Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The ArtsGovernment of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Lottery West, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.