View Menu


National Live Music Awards launch, Mike Harris on board

4 Oct



The complete selection of board members for the National Live Music Awards (NLMAs) have been announced, and joining the list of members appointed to elect the judging panel and approve all major decisions behind the awards is WAM CEO Mike Harris.

The NLMAs are a broad recognition of Australia’s diverse and successful live industry, celebrating the diversity and success of Australian live artists – recognising the best vocal talents and musicians alongside the best venues, events and festivals. The awards contain both national and state focused categories, voted on by the live industry (including fellow musicians, media, venues, bookers), with select public voted categories.

Along with the announcement of board members is the announcement of the first venues set to play host to the event when the awards take place across every State and Territory in the country on Tuesday 29 November at Badlands Bar from 7pm.

Eleven board members have been appointed for the NLMAs and are are spread around Australia to ensure every corner of the country is covered and supported by this event.

Board Members:

Damian Cunningham (Director, Live Music Office)
Dean Ormston (Head of Member Services, APRA AMCOS)
Emma Coyle (Industry Development Manager, Music SA)
Emily Collins (Executive Officer, Music NSW)
Joel Edmondson (Executive Officer, Q Music)
Katie Noonan (Musician)
Laura Harper (Chief Executive Officer, Music Tasmania)
Maggie Collins (Programmer at BIGSOUND)
Mike Harris (CEO, WAM)
Paris Martine (Contrary Music)
Simon Collins (Music Editor, The West Australian)

The awards contain both national and state focused categories, voted on by the judging panel, along with select public voted categories. More details on the specific categories will be released in the coming weeks, ahead of the nominee reveal in October.

Event details can be found here.



Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts Australian Government

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Culture and the Arts, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.