View Menu

AMIN Announces Mike Harris (WAM) as New Chair

10 Jul


The Australian Music Industry Network (AMIN) have been hard at work over the previous months addressing the immense challenges faced by the nation-wide music industry due to COVID-19. Made up of the heads of MusicACT, MusicNSW, Music NT, Music SA, Music Tasmania, Music Victoria, QMusic and WAM, AMIN represents all aspects of music and the music industry across the nation.

This week sees AMIN announce the election of a new Chair at the recent Annual General meeting, with WAM CEO, Mike Harris, taking over from Emily Collins. Mike previously held the position of Deputy Chair of AMIN, and has been involved with AMIN as the CEO of WAM since 2014. Angela Samut from QMusic takes on the role of Deputy Chair and Daniel Ballantyne from MusicACT is now Secretary, replacing Mike Harris and Lisa Bishop respectively.

Mike Harris said: “I am proud to take the reins at AMIN and lead the organisation through the next important stage of its being. As a key leadership body, AMIN has a critical role to play in the national dialogue around COVID-19 and how music comes out of this period of unprecedented lock down.”

“I acknowledge the great work of Emily Collins as outgoing Chair of AMIN and recognise her tireless efforts on behalf of AMIN and the Australian music sector. Thanks, Emily. It is important to also recognise the input and work of Lisa Bishop who has also led from the front on many AMIN projects and will soon finish up at Music SA.

“The most important thing right now is getting music back on its feet and our people and organisations working and earning money again. To this end we will work progressively with whomever to aid and assist in this”.

For more information on AMIN visit

Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The ArtsGovernment of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Lottery West, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.