View Menu

2020 WA Country Music Award Finalists Announced!

23 Jan


Now in its 35th year, the annual West Australian Country Music Awards have announced the list of finalists for 2020! Including 10 categories and judged by some of the country’s best Country Music Industry professionals, the list of finalists is a true testament to our home-grown talent.

Helen Townsend has scored a massive five nominations, including two releases in the Independent Single of the Year category. Local legend Karin Page and Jasmine Atkins have received four nominations each, including a dual nomination for Karin in the Open Songwriter of the Year category. Mike Goodwin and Lincoln MacKinnon are up for three awards apiece, with Little Lord Street Band and Julie Kember up double nominees.

With the release of the 2020 finalists come time to vote for the People’s Choice Award category! All finalists are eligible to receive this award, and you decide who wins! You can submit your vote HERE via the Country Music Club of Boyup Brook website.

2020 Country Music Award Finalists

Junior Vocalist of the Year
Elavina Williams
Georgia Cabone
Serra McCallum
Shae Digney

Emerging Artist of the Year
Dan Howls
Helen Townsend
Sally Jane Pottinger

Open Songwriter of the Year
‘Box’ – Karin Page
‘Get Gone’ – Jasmine Atkins/Kirsty Lee Akers
‘I’ll Be Gone’ – Mike Goodwin
‘Jessie’ – Karin Page/Kevin Bennett

Independent Single of the Year
‘Big City’ – Helen Townsend
‘Get Gone’ – Jasmine Atkins
‘Upward Now’ – Helen Townsend

Independent EP of the Year
‘Mike Goodwin’ – Mike Goodwin
‘Place of Living Water’ – The Eastern Line
‘Waking Up Next To You’ – The Little Lord Street Band

Independent Album of the Year
‘Little Lover’ – Helen Townsend
‘Lived a Million Lives’ – Julie Kember
‘Long Way Home’ – The Western Suntones

Video Clip of the Year
‘Box’ – Karin Page
‘I’m Bled’ – Lincoln MacKinnon
‘Where I’ve Never Been’ – Jasmine Atkins

Female Artist of the Year
Helen Townsend
Jasmine Atkins
Julie Kember
Karin Page

Male Artist of the Year
Benny Woodley Jnr
Lincoln MacKinnon
Mike Goodwin

Group of the Year
Lincoln MacKinnon and the Wrecking Train
Little Lord Street Band
Scarlets Way​

People’s Choice Award

Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and The ArtsGovernment of Western Australia Department of Culture and The Arts

WAM is supported by the State Government through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Lottery West, and is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.